Infinitas

Once again I went on Saturday to Infinitas bookstore (bookshop in OzTalk, mate) in Parramatta. My intention was to join the SF Writers Group. Sadly,  it didn’t take place for logistical reasons. However, I did have the chance to speak with Tim, the proprietor about his thoughts on SF.

Infinitas

Charless Stross signing at Infitas Aug. 10, 2010

Honestly, the number of independent booksellers is becoming few. And ones specializing in Science Fiction? Well, that’s even fewer. So I’m actually quite impressed to see wonderful shops like this crammed with SF to, literally, the ceiling. Making things even better, Tim is a wonderful person, who is both friendly and knowledgable about the genre.

So what’s happening in the marketplace? We both talked about the future of e-publishing. The clock is ticking and I suppose we both agreed that paper will go away (and the bookshops too sadly), but there is no agreement on when this will occur. My guess it is only about 5 years. But, I’ve been wrong before. Oh so wrong!

The written genre is of course in trouble. It always has been, and it always will. But clearly Sci-Fi (the media side with movies, TV, DVD, etc) is paving the way for our future. The question now is how important will writing (novels, and short stories) continue to be. I for one think it will remain the cradle, and a continuing source of brilliant ideas for the Sci-Fi media community to sponge off.

In the meantime, I look forward to visiting Infinitas several more times before my assignment in Australia comes to an end. If anyone is visiting OZ (before the demise of all paper book shops worldwide), I  suggest you give this little place a visit. I think it will be worth your time.

One response to “Infinitas

  1. Well, Borders is teetering here in the States.

    I suspect there will be some interesting changes. I’m hoping
    department and drug stores and 7-Elevens will start pushing books again!

Leave a Reply

